Science Fiction and Fantasy Books into Movies

HeaderGraphic.png

I am obsessed with reading science fiction, fantasy books, and watching movies. So, I am bewitched by those movies, based on science fiction and fantasy books and stories. You could say I make the ideal audience member. Movie producers have used written works to inspire and serve as the launching point for depictions on the screen. The history of science fiction and fantasy stories turned to movies dates back to the beginning of moving making. 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, by Jules Verne was adapted into a 1916 film. The German movie Nosferatu was the first film version of the Dracula tale.

movieLeaguesUnderSea

In the years since, Some film adaptations have worked, while some have not. In 2016, M.R. Carey’s The Girl with All the Gifts was brought to the screen, with the title character played by Sennia Nanua. This version conveyed much of the horror and hope of the book version. In 2007, I am Legend by Richard Matheson, was adapted with Will Smith playing the leading role. The movie changed the ending to be more optimistic than the book.

IamLegendTGWATG.png

Ray Bradbury’s A Sound of Thunder was filmed in 2005. Many readers of the story disliked the movie version. I enjoyed it, but had not read the story. Dune, the vast epic novel by Frank Herbert has experienced several adaptation attempts. I appreciated the 1984 version, though many criticize that movie. I feel the book conveyed so much deep background, side stories, and characters, that no movie could completely represent it.

SoundofThunderDune.png

In 2001 Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien was brought to the screen by director Peter Jackson. The film received critical and fan acclaim and was followed by more films in the series and Hobbit movie adaptations. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins spawned a series of successful movies, starting in 2012. The movies pleased fans with portrayal of a strong female character and futuristic action.

HungerGamesLordofRings.png

The use of science fiction and fantasy novels and stories to inspire movies is only increasing. Each year multiple titles are produced. The quality and faithfulness continues to vary. Fortunately, for me, my obsession is so great, I appreciate even mediocre productions. One question, I have is when more challenging written works will be produced. A few titles that would be interesting, if they could be made well, include Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. Le Guin, Woman on the Edge of Time by Marge Piercy, and Octavia E. Butler’s Parable of the Sowers. Let me know some movies, adapted from stories, that you liked or loathed.

4 thoughts on “Science Fiction and Fantasy Books into Movies

  1. Great post. I haven’t read I Am Legend yet, but I’m looking forward to reading the real ending. It’s on my Kindle. The Martian is one book and movie that I thoroughly enjoyed both versions, even though Hollywood hyped up the movie at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked Blade Runner at least as much as I liked the original books (“So Androids Dream of Electric Sheep”). The story, “I Can Remember It For You Wholesale” was a great short story. They did something quite a bit different with “Total Recall” which had some nice moments but was only glancingly associated with the story.

    How to Train Your Dragon was a great fantasy movie and the book, well, not so much. I also like Howl’s Moving Castle, which has more in common with the original book, but still varies widely.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes both version of Total Recall movies can only be appreciated separate from the books. Hollywood, in both cases, was going for particular effects and results. I enjoyed both movies, but wouldn’t compare them to the books.

    Like

Leave a comment