Author Interview – Ryan Z. Dawson

My Writer's Journey

Me Walk

Ryan Z. Dawson is the author of the self-published The King’s Eagle.  His new book, Melidora, which was published by Dire Ninja Media.

How would you describe your story in one sentence?

Melidora is about a girl with amnesia who finds herself in a magical land, through which she travels trying to remember who she is.

What inspired you to write your story/characters/theme?

I had just finished translating Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland into my conlang, Imnura, and I started thinking about how many stories there are in which children find secret fantasy worlds that adults have no access to.  I thought it would be a fun challenge to try and write a story about a fanasy land that is discovered by an adult instead.  This simple idea ended up becoming very personal as my main characters developed.  I have fond memories of playing outside with my friends as a child. …

View original post 759 more words

Leave a Reply

